The Tides of Change….

I have been back two weeks now in the beautiful Australia and the Barossa Valley.

Leaving Baseco is always bittersweet for me, I feel like I leave a bit of me behind with Pst Marivic and Marco, Pst Manny and Rolinda, Precy,  Allan, Rodellio, Riza, Liezel, Kat Kat, Irene their families are part of my heart……but of course my family is here back in Australia so my place is here. But I treasure my times in Baseco.

P1430404

My times with the mums, talking laughing and nursing babies………nothing thrills my soul when I see mothers growing learning and wanting to change.

The interesting thing about Baseco in 2013 is there seems to be a slight shift in the way the wind is blowing……

It is slight but I feel like it is HAPPENING.

Most ladies I talk to seem more tuned into Health, Eating Well, (schools now tell the same story) Birthing a Baby safely….even contraception/family planning has become almost acceptable, thanks to the tireless work of the women at Likahaan and the Lying in Centre…….I feel like I was not (for the first time) preaching a completely NEW message but one they had at least heard SOMETHING about before.

Did I repeat myself? YES

Did I find women who knew nothing? YES

Were there still little girls getting pregnant who still should be at school? YES

Did I find some tragedies? YES

But I did sense a change, NICE!!

Is it physical, spiritual, or political?

It could be all three, facilities are improving, fresh water and electricity nearly reaches the whole of Baseco now (thanks to Jn 14:12 and churches in Australia) , there are schools and a Heath Centre, drains are being built to drain the refuse away, roads, infrastructure and business is improving.

The Government has passed new laws pertaining to Women’s Health and Family Planning despite the resistance of the Catholic Church, it is now LEGAL to supply women with Contraception and discuss family planning. The Mayor who originally came from Baseco has bought about many many positive changes as well.

Yes, this is all true

But I really believe that through the preaching of the gospel and the subsequent blessings that follow (not just the work of Jn 14:12, but other evangelical churches in Baseco as well) the tide of devastating poverty and despair is being turned. As I was thinking about it it is like a massive ship turning in the sea…it cannot do it alone it needs to be shunted, shifted and tweaked and towed by the small but powerful tugboat, it is slowly being turned around…….

13337286_s

Copyright (c) <a href=’http://www.123rf.com’>123RF Stock Photos</a>

The giant ship moves, it changes direction and is set on a new course!

The gospel works!

There is no way I can now deny it. I have seen over 5 years the shift in Baseco……

Slight but real!

Not that there is still not a  long way to go, not that the work is finished.

But the tide is beginning to shift in my humble opinion.

I for one am glad and grateful that God came to Baseco.

My Birthing Better Babies will grow up in a different Baseco than that of their parents!

P1430342

Jesus Christ through the Living Church has made a difference, He has changed the tide of death and destruction into hope and deliverance for those who want it!

Hugs

Cath

2 thoughts on “The Tides of Change….”

  1. Wow what a delightful read, what a blessing to have you back from your visit with such a great report.

    Where there was little hope thanks to faithful people and Gods goodness and mercy Baseco is changing.

    No coincidence in the timing of Smokey Mountain. Thanks so much for sharing and well done fir the passion and obedience to make a difference. You inspire us to keep going!!

    Awesome news

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Mother Teresa said,”We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop.”

    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

