Leave a Legacy…….

Today I was ploughing through my unread emails since coming back from Birthing Better Babies Philippines where I was teaching in the slums with a dedicated team of midwives. I was shocked and saddened to read that my Childbirth Education Mentor and Coordinator of the course I completed Andrea Robertson founder of Birth International died of a massive heart attack.

andrea-robinson

She spent time with me, lots of it. Having NO midwifery background myself, she encouraged me and provoked me to be a Mother/Teacher and not to be intimidated about who I was and to flaunt it and use it. Andrea was a great role model and mentor. I am deeply saddened by her loss.

The synchronisation of this event was not lost on me.

Here I was…….In Baseco Manila, that very week, in an Urban slum teaching Childbirth Classes with midwives and nurses. Her legacy lives on…… as I taught my girls and ladies to walk their fingers around their pelvis, to respect every woman who crossed my path, all my adult education training stretched to the max were all part of Andrea’s teaching, philosophies and words. It is too late to thank her but perhaps she knew the ripple effect.

I honour her wisdom and zest, helping women and birth in Australia and beyond.

I wrote to her son and shared with him what we are doing in Manila, Andrea is in many ways so much of my inspiration to do the things I do…..here is what I wrote to him.

Andrea spent time with me personally and very patiently encouraged me to complete my degree. Having no midwifery training it was a steep learning curve with 5 children of my own as well. She encouraged me to be Mother/Teacher which is something I carry to this day.

She has a rich legacy, I use her techniques and methods everywhere I go. She really is Birth International. From the cities to the slums her legacy is being heard.

Her life was inspirational, alive and life giving, her ripple effect will live on.

So very thankful to have known her in a small way.

My mothers in Manila will never know Andreas’ name but they are affected by her in many ways, they are informed and learning. That I believe was Andreas’ heart.

Just thought that you might want to know that at the very day and time of her funeral we were teaching a group of  Women in untouched slum. We were teaching Body Awareness, Nurturing and Breastfeeding Class. These women have never spoken to a nurse, or been touched by another Western women at all. We had to be very gentle. (Photos enclosed)

So beautiful, I think Andrea would have been happy.

20150505_101134_resized(1)

20150505_105112_resized(1) 20150505_105326_resized(1) 20150505_105342_resized(1) 20150505_160132_resized(1)

It encouraged me to again leave a legacy and mentor those younger than me……

It is a simple enough thing, we should leave disciples wherever we go!

Today is a sad happy day for me,

The world will be a better place because of the life of this great woman and mentor

Cathy

Leave a Reply

